Menu

1. Dashboard documentation

This page explains how you can create an account, and upload and manage your images.

1.1. Creating an account

You can easily create a new Micrio account on the sign up page. There, you have two options:

  • Log in with your Google account

    This is the easiest way. If you have a Google account, you can use it to log in to Micrio using a single click.

  • Create a standalone Micrio account

    You can also create a separate Micrio account. On the registration form, choose a username and password, and fill in a valid e-mail address. After signing up, you will receive a confirmation e-mail required to confirm your e-mail address.

    Once you've clicked the activation link in the e-mail, you're good to go!

1.2. Projects

Within the Micrio dashboard, you can create as many different projects as you need. There are two project types with different usage requirements. This section details the what and how.

1.2.1. Creating a project

When you log in to the dashboard for the first time, you will see the following screen:

If you click on create your first project, you will see the following screen:

Fill in a project name and select which kind of project you want to create. All projects come with a 30 day free trial period, so you can play around with it before you decide to keep using Micrio.

To help you make a choice of what kind of project to create, there are 2 types of projects:

  • Storytelling project

    Within a storytelling project, you can enrich your uploaded images with markers, tours, and audio. Choose this subscription type if you want to create immersive storytelling projects throughout your high resolution images.

  • Hi-res images only

    If you have a (big) collection of hi-res images, and just want to use the zoomable Micrio viewer to share or embed into your own site, choose this type.

To choose the fitting needed storage and bandwidth can be tricky. Please refer to this table for some examples.

You can always upgrade existing projects if the chosen version isn't big enough anymore. If you want to play around, just start with the smallest project and see how it goes from there -- you can keep track of the storage and bandwidth usage in the dashboard once the project has been created.

Once you've made your choice, just click "Create project", and you're done! You can now continue to the next section.

1.2.2. Project operations

Once you've created a project and return to the dashboard main page, you will see your project cards like this:

There, you can see the current project status, its storage and current monthly bandwidth usage, and can rename, change or delete the project:

RENAME Rename this project
UPGRADE If you are using more storage, or monthly bandwidth for your images than the current project limits, you can upgrade your project using this option.
DELETE Delete the project. This cannot be undone! The project and all its underlying images and folders will be permanently deleted.

1.3. Images

1.3.1. Uploading images

Once you've logged into the dashboard and created a new project, you can start uploading your images. Simply drag and drop images from your computer to the browser, or use the bottom-right button to select a file on your computer to upload.

Currently, you can upload JPG, PNG, TIFF, PSB and RAW files in the dashboard, with a maximum resolution of 100,000 x 100,000 pixels (or 10GP). We will add more supported file formats in the future.

Larger images are also supported, please contact us for more information on how to upload them.

Once an image has been selected, it can take some time to process it for best client delivery. Depending on your image size, this can take from 10 seconds (16MP) to a few minutes (400MP).

1.3.2. Image operations

Once an image has been processed correctly, it will appear in the dashboard as an image card:

Below the title, there is some image information:

event When the image was uploaded
photo_size_select_actual The image pixel resolution
storage The used storage size 1
  1. Note: the storage size can be different from the original image you uploaded. This is due to serverside reprocessing of your original image into tiles-- which can be JPG or PNG. This can either reduce the original image size when you've uploaded a TIFF, PSB or RAW file, or can slightly increase the size when you've uploaded a JPG or PNG file.

At the bottom of the card, there are several actions:

public Set the image private or public-- if this button is green, it means anybody can view the image using the image URL.
360 Set or unset the image as a 360° image-- If you've uploaded a 360 degrees image, you can tell Micrio to treat it as such, resulting in a fully immersive image viewer where you can look around.
EDIT If the image is inside a Storytelling Project, this link opens the image editor to enrich it with markers, tours and audio. See the editor documentation on how to use it.
VIEW This opens the public viewing URL of this image. If the image is set as public using the public icon, you can share this URL with everyone. For more information, see the sharing/embedding documentation.

For more image operations, click on the menu icon on the top right of the image card:

RENAME Rename the image
MOVE If you have multiple folders in your project, you can move the image there using this option
DELETE Delete the image. This cannot be undone! The image and all metadata will be removed, and the image will no longer be accessible.

1.4. Folders

If you have a lot of images, you can easily arrange them by creating folders.

1.4.1. Creating a folder

In the project view, click the create_new_folder icon, and select "Create new..." to create a folder:

Give the new folder a name, and press Done. Then the new folder is automatically opened, and you can navigate through them using the folder bar at the top of the screen:

1.4.2. Folder operations

Right click the menu on the top right of the folder view to show the folder operations:

Public link Enable a public folder gallery viewer for all images in this folder.
Rename folder Rename the current folder
Move folder Move the entire folder and all its subfolders to another folder.
Delete folder Permanently delete this folder, its child folders, and all the containing images. This cannot be undone!
By Marcel Duin, marcel@q42.nl - Last modified: 08/17/2017